Keepin’ the Faith

I didn’t choose to be a Catholic. Like most Filipino Catholics, I was born into a Catholic family, baptised a Catholic two months after I was born. I went to a Catholic school and at the age of seven, received my First Communion. Religion was among the major subjects taught in school and it was expected of us students to learn, understand, and practise the Roman Catholic faith.

Confirmation at the age of 12 is something I vaguely remember, save that I chose St. Teresa of Avila as my patron saint since she is the patron of the school I went to and I always thought she’s the one of the coolest and smartest saints. I didn’t really get to choose my godparents, since I didn’t really know any better at that age and my parents chose their closest friends for me.

As a young teenager, the Teresian Assocation that runs the school fascinated me. I thought at that time I was called to the lay vocation and so when I turned 16, I readily and immediately wrote a formal letter of application to the association. After three years of on-and-off formation, however, I realised I did not have the vocation, after all.

Years of searching ensued and it was not until the New Year’s Day Mass a decade later that I was touched by the Holy Spirit and truly desired conversion and God’s grace. That day, I chose to be child of God and to practise my faith.

I got married and have had two children since. Motherhood has, nonetheless, greatly influenced my desire to become a saint someday, to set an example for my children and to help lead them, my husband, and those around me to heaven one day.

‘Tis not an easy path to take and I continuously struggle to overcome my weaknesses.I believe, nonetheless, that as long as I stay on this path, one day I will be blessed to see God’s face.

Leave a Reply

Pinoy Roots

discovering the joy of being Filipino (or part-Filipino!)

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

A Culture of Life

The Blog of Family Life International NZ

Another Espresso, Please

Why, yes, I did just have one, thanks...

8 Kids And A Business

Balancing a large family with a small business, all by God's mercy, grace and providence

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

