One Big, Happy Family

As Saint Margaret d’Youville aptly put it, “All the wealth in the world cannot be compared with the happiness of living together happily united.”

God has blessed me so by not only giving me Mr. Right, but the right in-laws, too. Unlike most, I get along quite well with my mother-in-law, despite the fact that my husband is her youngest child and only son. She is truly my second mum, and since my own mum passed away nearly ten years ago, I’m truly glad to have her in my life. My father-in-law is sweet and thoughtful, as well, whose quirkiness I simply adore.

I don’t have any sister, but my husband has three who have all warmly welcomed me into the fold. I am closest to my eldest sister-in-law, mainly because we lived in the same city for nearly ten years and our children practically grew up together. When she and her family moved to New Zealand in 2006, I my heart broke for my children whose best friends are their cousins.  Our kids were just so happy to see their cousins again when we came to Auckland a year later for a holiday. Thus, to be with them again was the primary reason for our migrating to New Zealand in 2008.

My two other sisters-in-law, however, live in different continents. One in North America, the other in Europe. So we don’t get to see them and their families often enough. My parents-in-law, though, have been going back and forth the U.K. and the U.S. to help them out whenever they would have another child. Thus, we did not get to see them for nearly three years, ever since we moved to NZ.

God’s love for our extended family is boundless. He has blessed my sisters-in-law with wonderful, devout Catholic husbands and the loveliest children.

This year, we were able to hold a reunion in Auckland — for two weeks! What a fantastic treat it was for us, seeing everyone again, spending time with them, getting to know the younger ones who were either too young or not yet born the last time we were all together.

Though time passes and things change, we start and end with family. Here’s hoping and praying for the next family reunion!

Leave a Reply

Pinoy Roots

discovering the joy of being Filipino (or part-Filipino!)

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

A Culture of Life

The Blog of Family Life International NZ

Another Espresso, Please

Why, yes, I did just have one, thanks...

8 Kids And A Business

Balancing a large family with a small business, all by God's mercy, grace and providence

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

