In Solitude

As far back as I can remember, I’ve always found solace inside a church or chapel by my lonesome. Just sitting there, talking to God, praising Him, asking for His forgiveness, sharing my innermost fears, weaknesses, and desires.

I would spend as little as five minutes to an hour like this. As a student, the accessibility of a chapel within the school was a boon. Moreover, the house we lived in was located just about 200 meters away from our parish. Thus, when I moved away to another city, I found less and less opportunities to give special attention to God’s presence.

It wasn’t until I had already become a mother — in pursuit of my desire to lead by example to my children — that I began to attend spiritual recollections and retreats again at the Banilad Study Centre. As a Cooperator of Opus Dei, I began the continuous struggle of practising norms of piety: daily prayers, spiritual reflections and meditations, praying the rosary, regular confession, et al.

Even tonight, I am challenged to attend the recollection at the Fernall Study Centre in Epsom, having difficulty finding a ride home afterward for myself and for a friend whom I plan to bring along. But I am determined to go, even it means walking after 9:00 in the evening and riding the train home.

The solitude that tonight’s recollection will provide is not a physical one since there will be several other women in attendance, but rather, that of mind and heart. For only in such silence and solitude will I be able to truly experience God’s presence and hear His voice.

Leave a Reply

Pinoy Roots

discovering the joy of being Filipino (or part-Filipino!)

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

A Culture of Life

The Blog of Family Life International NZ

Another Espresso, Please

Why, yes, I did just have one, thanks...

8 Kids And A Business

Balancing a large family with a small business, all by God's mercy, grace and providence

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

