Good Morning, Good Morning to You!

Image from Stock.Xchng

[I]t seemed to me that the person of the Father drew me to Himself and spoke these pleasant words.
I gave you my Son, and the Holy Spirit,
and this Blessed Virgin.
What can you give to me?
~ Spiritual Testimonies in St. Teresa of Avila Collected Works Vol I (ICS Publications: 1987)

One way  I respond to God is by thanking him, offering him my day. My husband and I have taught our kids the prayers below, which we pray together when we start our day.

Morning Offering
O Jesus, through the Immaculate Heart of Mary, I offer you my prayers, works, joys, and sufferings of this day for all the intentions of your Sacred Heart, in union with the holy sacrifice of the Mass throughout the world, in reparation for my sins, for the intentions of all my relatives and friends, and in particular, for the intentions of the Holy Father. Amen.

Blessed Be Your Purity
Blessed be your purity,
May it be blessed forever,
For no less than God takes delight,
In such exalted beauty.
To you, heavenly Princess,
Holy Virgin Mary,
I offer on this day
My whole heart, life, and soul.
Look upon me with compassion,
Do not leave me, my Mother.

To the Guardian Angel
Angel of God, my guardian dear,
To whom his love commits me here;
Ever this day be at my side,
To light and guard, to rule and guide. Amen.

We then take turns each day to add our personal prayers of thanksgiving and supplication. Certainly a wonderful way to start our day, especially as a family.

On my own, and if you can make more time for prayer, you can add the other Catholic common prayers for the Act of Faith, Act of  Hope, Act of Charity, Prayer Before a Day’s Work, Prayer to Keep the Presence of God, Prayer for Vocations, and Acceptance of God’s Will.  Helps me keep myself in check throughout the day, especially with work. I can’t do a botch up job or work halfheartedly since I remind myself that I’ve offered the day to God and it would be a lousy offering if I didn’t do my best.

Mental prayer, though, I have to admit, I often struggle with, but always strive to do. Starting small at 5 minutes each morning and gradually build up to 15-20 minutes. When I experience a lapse, I go back to 5 minutes again. It is a continuous struggle, but I’d like to believe God acknowledges my efforts.

What about you, do you do your morning and mental prayers? Care to share with me tips on how I can stay on track?
4 Comments

  1. I think that is among the most vital information for me. And i am glad reading your article. But wanna commentary on some normal issues, The site style is ideal, the articles is in point of fact nice : D. Just right task, cheers

  2. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all folks you actually know what you are speaking about! Bookmarked. Please additionally seek advice from my site =). We could have a link trade contract between us

  3. It’s really a great and useful piece of info. I am satisfied that you just shared this useful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Fantastic site. A lot of helpful information here. I am sending it to some buddies ans also sharing in delicious. And certainly, thank you on your effort!

Leave a Reply

Pinoy Roots

discovering the joy of being Filipino (or part-Filipino!)

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

A Culture of Life

The Blog of Family Life International NZ

Another Espresso, Please

Why, yes, I did just have one, thanks...

8 Kids And A Business

Balancing a large family with a small business, all by God's mercy, grace and providence

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

