Confessions of a Shopaholic, Chocoholic, Bookaholic, and Videoholic

The Confession

The Confession by Guiseppe Moletni from The Grateful to he Dead WordPress blog

My oh my, but when I examined my conscience in preparation for the Sacrament of Reconciliation last night before the Advent Triduum Mass, I have to admit I was ashamed of myself for giving in too much of late.

Christmas brings out the best in a lot of people, and for me, unfortunately, it brought out my self-proclaimed need to shop for decors, dinnerware, and gifts; eating to my heart’s content at parties and alas, even at home.

Worse, it’s summer in our part of the world. The kids get a 6-7-week break, and most working people like me get a forced leave of 2 weeks over the holidays, as most offices shut down during that period. So goodbye regular schedules and norms, hello to reading novels (note the “s”) and Hollywood Heights marathon viewing. Ack! Me and my grave lack of temperance.

Anyway, confess away I did. Absolution and spiritual direction warmly received. Now the atonement begins. A true challenge since Christmas Day is still 2 days away and work doesn’t start till a week after the New Year yet. Ah well… with God’s grace, I will strive to persevere.

What about you, what do you do or have done to prepare for Christ’s coming? What challenges have you faced?

Leave a Reply

Pinoy Roots

discovering the joy of being Filipino (or part-Filipino!)

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

A Culture of Life

The Blog of Family Life International NZ

Another Espresso, Please

Why, yes, I did just have one, thanks...

8 Kids And A Business

Balancing a large family with a small business, all by God's mercy, grace and providence

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

