One Day at a Time

As I mentioned in an earlier blog post of mine, Confessions of a Shopaholic, Chocoholic, Bookaholic, and Videoholic, one of the TV series I got so hooked on was Hollywood Heights, Nick at Night’s experimental five-nights-a-week drama based on the Mexican telenovela “Alcanzar una Estrella” (“To Reach a Star”). One of the songs popularised by the show was “One Day at a Time, ” (above video).

Although the song was written and composed by the male lead as a result of a broken heart, it is the second part of the chorus that moves and inspires me to write this post:

I remember every piece of me
Everything was perfect and complete
So I’m gonna take it
One day at a time
One day at a time.

It is, after all, the end of the year when most people make resolutions for the next or resolve not to make any. For my part, I realise that year after year, I made resolutions that were a bit lofty, and thus, fail to achieve them and give up or just forget about them altogether before even the first half of the year has passed.

So I’m not going to do that for 2013. I am, nonetheless, still hopeful to make changes in my life for the better. But, only a few, and those that are very realistic and measurable. Similar to resolutions we are encouraged to make after every annual spiritual retreat.

I aim to improve myself in pursuit of sanctifying my life. To be perfect as God wants me to be perfect. To be more like Jesus. But with the shadow of original sin, such will be a lifelong struggle. But small as they may be, I believe that baby steps will still get me there in the long run. My resolutions?

1. To hear Mass at least 2x a week consistently. Daily would be ideal, but since life gets in the way a lot of the time and I have yet to get back into  making it a habit, one other day other than the regular Sunday Mass would be my immediate goal.

2. To pray the Holy Rosary once a week with my family. I pray the Rosary every day on my own, but as a good mum, I should make it a point to help my kids (and my husband) make a habit of praying the Rosary, too.

3. To eat less (meat and carbs) and move more (physically). Battling the bulge can be really frustrating after 40 with at least 30kg to lose. I’ve done the meatless Mondays, so I’ll the raise the bar a bit to no meat 2x a week and at least 1 meal with no carbs everyday (It has been part of the Filipino culture to eat rice with every main meal, and those who don’t substitute it with another source of carbohydrates like bread or pasta.).

As for exercise, I enjoy dancing and with the Xbox 360 + Kinect we have at home, I aim to do 30min of Dance Central or Star Wars Galactic Dance Off or at least once a week and do 30min of the Your Shape Fitness Evolved once a week.

4. To put and keep order in our home. This includes organising our things (a challenge with limited space and budget), keeping the house clean (a bigger challenge with the kids home till the end of the month), creating schedules and activities (like an after school care’s holiday programme, but to include reading, writing, and maths)  and chores for the kids to do the rest of their summer holiday and on weekends.

Simple, measurable. Should I falter, I can easily start again. So I’m gonna take it, one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

Pinoy Roots

discovering the joy of being Filipino (or part-Filipino!)

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

A Culture of Life

The Blog of Family Life International NZ

Another Espresso, Please

Why, yes, I did just have one, thanks...

8 Kids And A Business

Balancing a large family with a small business, all by God's mercy, grace and providence

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

