Here I Am

What do you want to be when you grow up,” my grandmother asked me when I was seven years old. “A nun,” I readily replied. At that age and for the next couple of years, that was what I romanticised I would become someday.

I obviously didn’t become one, but “the call” to do something, to do more has almost always been there. As a teenager, I took joy in doing apostolate work, giving catechism classes to the kids in the community my high school adopted; actively facilitating psycho-spiritual seminars for the marginalised youth; applying to the Teresian Association at the age of 16 (only to realise three years later that I did not have the vocation).

Decades later, soon after I gave birth to my first child, my husband and I participated in a parenting course run by Educhild (Education for the Upbringing of Children Foundation), and joined the core group of facilitators afterward. Along the way, both my husband and I became Cooperators of Opus Dei — I just celebrated my anniversary last 8 February.

Migrating to New Zealand 7  1/2 years later and missing the work we did at Educhild, I found myself “itching” to do something, to do more. I joined the Santo Niño Devotees Trust  and find myself becoming more actively involved as each year passes.

With the season of Lent to commence this week, I cannot help reflecting on yesterday’s First Reading (which I happened to have been assigned as Minister of the Word to read at Mass). I may not have been called to a religious life, but as a Christian I am called to help spread God’s word and to serve him. So I aim to do so and will strive harder. I will answer his call.

Leave a Reply

Pinoy Roots

discovering the joy of being Filipino (or part-Filipino!)

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

A Culture of Life

The Blog of Family Life International NZ

Another Espresso, Please

Why, yes, I did just have one, thanks...

8 Kids And A Business

Balancing a large family with a small business, all by God's mercy, grace and providence

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

