Habemus Papam! Viva Pope Francis I!

Image from The Guardian

Image from The Guardian

When my husband alerted us right before he left for work that smoke has come out from the Vatican, signalling that a new pope has been elected, I couldn’t wait to get online myself. I did, however, have to patiently get the kids ready for school and give them hugs and kisses, wish them a good day — hubby included. As soon as they left, I opened my Mac and logged on Twitter, which knew would give me faster updates than Facebook would.

True enough, I found The Guardian‘s live streaming coverage of the Vatican. I watched, waited, and prayed. And cried. I was overwhelmed with joy and awe at God’s love for us by allowing the Conclave to elect a pope so quickly.

Soon enough, it was announced that Cardinal Jorge Mario Bergoglio of Buenos Aires was elected as the new pontiff and has taken the name Pope Francis I.

I watched and listened (and tried to translate what he said in Italian, understanding only the gists), prayed with him and the crowd outside the Vatican for emeritus Pope Benedict XVI, prayed for him, and went back to Twitter and found the correct translations (I wasn’t so far off.)

A perfect morning, a perfect way to start the day. I headed off to church to hear Mass and rejoice with the rest of the parishioners, gave praise to God, and prayed once again for Pope Francis I.

Little is known about the personal life of Pope Francis I, save that he is 76 years old, the first Latin American and first Jesuit to be a pope and that he has always led   simple life: he rode the bus to work, lived in a basic apartment, and tended to the poor. So like his chosen patron saint, St. Francis of Assisi. So befitting our world that has indulged in materialism and consumerism.

Pope Francis I has also chosen his episcopal mottomiserando atque eligendo” (lowly but chosen), which is quite apt for the Year of  Faith.

Leave a Reply

Pinoy Roots

discovering the joy of being Filipino (or part-Filipino!)

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

A Culture of Life

The Blog of Family Life International NZ

Another Espresso, Please

Why, yes, I did just have one, thanks...

8 Kids And A Business

Balancing a large family with a small business, all by God's mercy, grace and providence

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

