My Daughter’s Poem

This year, I celebrated Mothers Day three times. The first, on the actual day, 12 May, with breakfast prepared by my husband, Mass at our parish, lunch out and a movie with my family (We watched The Croods on 3D — a wholesome movie about family and changes — a rare treat as it has been ages since we all went to the theatre.), and takeaway dinner. No chores and a fun-filled, relaxing day for me.

The second was on the 18 May, for the Mothers Day High Tea at the Fernhall Study Centre that’s under the spiritual formation of the Opus Dei, wherein Club 56, the club for girls ages 8-12 that my daughter belongs to, organised. For about a minute when my 9-year-old daughter told me about the event, I considered skipping it altogether as I already know what the study centre is all about and the benefits of encouraging my daughter to join their activities. Plus, the fact that I was the co-organiser of the Mothers Day event of the Santo Niño Devotees that was scheduled on the same afternoon (the third celebration).

My darling daughter, however, insisted when she noticed my hesitance, saying, “You have to go, Mum. I will be presenting something.” And that was that. I had to inform the rest of the core group that I would have to go to the event, after the High Tea one. Family comes first, after all.

I am oh so glad I did. The girls club sang a song, “Count on Me” by Bruno Mars, and then I got a wonderful surprise — the emcee announced that my daughter would be reading a poem that she personally wrote. The video above was capture by me of that precious moment. Although it was a very short poem, it was an original one and written specifically for me. Everyone was touched and said, “Aww…” afterward.

I was overwhelmed with love and pride. My daughter, although always wins the poetry reading and speech competitions in her primary school, is stage shy. She normally wouldn’t volunteer to do something of the sort. So her doing so, in front of several other mums whom she did not know, was a big feat.

Best Mothers Day yet, and certainly, the best daughter I could ever have (A good thing I only have one so far, eh?).

Leave a Reply

Pinoy Roots

discovering the joy of being Filipino (or part-Filipino!)

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

A Culture of Life

The Blog of Family Life International NZ

Another Espresso, Please

Why, yes, I did just have one, thanks...

8 Kids And A Business

Balancing a large family with a small business, all by God's mercy, grace and providence

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

